VOS Presents

SHREK The Musical

May 3-12, 2019 at the MacPherson Playhouse

Based on the Oscar-winning DreamWorks Animation film, Shrek The Musical is a Tony Award-winning fairy tale adventure, featuring all new songs from Jeanine Tesori (Thoroughly Modern Millie; Caroline, or Change) and a sidesplitting book by David Lindsay-Abaire. Shrek brings all the beloved characters you know from the film to life on stage and proves there’s more to the story than meets the ears.

“Once upon a time, there was a little ogre named Shrek….” And thus begins the tale of an unlikely hero who finds himself on a life-changing journey alongside a wisecracking Donkey and a feisty princess who resists her rescue. Throw in a short-tempered bad guy, a cookie with an attitude and over a dozen other fairy tale misfits, and you’ve got the kind of mess that calls for a real hero. Luckily, there’s one on hand… and his name is Shrek.

Shrek presents a treasure trove of creative opportunities, including costumes, sets, puppets (there is a fire-breathing dragon after all) and more! Irreverently fun for the whole family, Shrek proves that beauty is truly in the eye of the ogre.


Director – Roger Carr
Co-Music Directors – Heather Burns & Dave Flello
Choreographer – Jennifer Sanders
Co-Producers – Mary Lynne Britt & Margaret Bowes
Stage Manager – Jessica Bambrough
Lighting Designer – Adam Wilkinson
Lighting Designer – Rebekah Johnson
Set Designer – Guy Chester

Properties – Drinda Ribeiro, Sandi Norton
Costumes Co-Designers –Deb Cope & David Brillinger
Hair –Megan Stretch
Make-up –Kelly Bryce


Shrek – Morgan McLeod
Fiona – Heidi Fox Lange 
Donkey – Dan Comeau
Lord Farquaad – Dwayne Gordon  
Pinocchio – Alexander Moorman
Dragon – Mandy Wiltshire 
Gingy & The Sugar Plum Fairy – Alison Roberts
Teen Fiona – Maggie Martin 
Young Fiona – Genevieve Roszmann 
Young Shrek – Nathan Corpus


Kathy Alexander 
Carenza Angharad 
Cassandra Barrow 
Fran Bitonti 
Alyssa Bryce 
Ron Caissie 
James Coates 
Sadie Evans 
Hailey Fowler 
Airlie Longpre 
Katelyn MacKellen 
Mariah McDonald 
Jordan McDonald 
Kelli McLeod 
Remy McLeod 
Ridley McLeod 
Darian Ngai 
Christie Norman 
Nathan Patterson 
Darren Rathgaber 
Liam Reitsma 
Mark Riishede 
Jessica Stewart 
Brian Thibodeau

Photo Credit: Paula Brown